Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gaining not losing weight

I have walking for about two weeks for a total of 2.75 to 3 mikes a day except for Sunday. My start weight is 265 and my goal is 135-140 lbs. I weigh myself yesterday and now I weight 267.5.  I keep the food log and I don't know why I am gaining and it is upsetting. What am I missing to get the weight going downward not upward?  I am a newbie.

Best Answer
0 Votes
6 REPLIES 6

@Peaches69mwelcome to the forum!

There can be a few causes, but they all boil down to that you are still consuming more calories than you are burning if you keep gaining over a longer period of time (for women typically 4 weeks as the cycle can make our weight cycle). The FitBit might report that you burn more than you consume, but everything is an estimation, so a calories deficit on paper might not be a calories deficit in reality. See if you can increase the calories deficit in your plan a bit more and check after a few weeks what the results of that are.

A few pointers that might help:

1. Try a plan and stick to it for 4 weeks. If it is not working change 1 or 2 things and stick to it again for 4 weeks. It might take some time, but at some point you will find the balancing point where you start to lose weight.

2. No matter how (in)active you are, you can still gain if you consume more calories than you burn. This includes drinks. Are you logging your drinks as well? Think about sugar and creamer in coffee and drinks that contain sugar.

3. Some foods can have the same calories on paper, but can have a different impact on the body. I personally do not experience this, but there are people who seem to do poorly with bread for example. See if there are certain foods that prevent you from losing (and replace with healthy options if needed).

If you can give a few more details about your life, I think people can give you some better pointers than the general.

Karolien | The Netherlands