Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help gaining muscle

Hello Fitbit Community!

I have recently started a Journey on trying to gain muscle (bulking season). Except I have no idea where to start.To start off I do not know what my activity level is to even began to think about how many calories I should be eating, maybe you can help me? What my current week looks like is I do light activity: Mon-Thursday ( not including exercise), Friday-Sunday I work as a cashier, (mainly standing). Exercise: Mon - Friday I lift heavy ( 5 days).  Age:18 I weigh 124 pounds, height: 5 foot 6 inches and no, I do not have a fast metabolism. Also, specifically how many more calories I should be consuming on training days? (100+ calories more?) and should I consume less on off days? ( on maintenance mode)  

Best Answer
0 Votes
6 REPLIES 6

You want to gain weight at a steady pace (e.g. 0.5 lb per week) during your bulking phase, so you want to monitor your weight on a regular basis and look at weekly averages: over time, they should go up. You don’t need to have the exact same caloric surplus every single day, so I don’t think you need to adjust your eating based on whether or not it’s a training day. Weight training doesn’t burn that many calories anyway.

If you decide to log your calories in, you can use your Fitbit for an estimate of your calories out. Be aware that activity trackers often overestimate your energy expenditure. In the end, the scale will tell whether you’re gaining as you’re supposed to.

Dominique | Finland

Ionic, Aria, Flyer, TrendWeight | Windows 7, OS X 10.13.5 | Motorola Moto G6 (Android 9), iPad Air (iOS 12.4.4)

Take a look at the Fitbit help site for further assistance and information.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Squat.

Deadlift.

Overhead Press

Protein

Sleep

Work out...eat... sleep...repeat!
Dave | California

Best Answer