Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what is a reasonable number of steps for a 72-year-old woman?

ANSWERED

I am new to Fitbit, but have been tracking my food intake and exercise in MyFitnessPal for 53 days, with the goal of losing 35lbs (15.8Kg). I read this: http://walkaboutns.ca/walkabout-info/resources/step-count-recommendation/ and noted the recommendation of 6,000 to 8,500 for adults aged 60-70; and this http://munfitnessblog.com/how-many-steps-you-should-walk-a-day-to-stay-healthy/ where it says 8,000 steps per day for women over 60.

I am 72 years of age and in good health. 8,000 seems high to me, so I have set a goal of 6,500 steps per day, which, for me is achievable. I live in a mountainous area, and most of my (daily) walking is uphill, and at a brisk pace. Does 6,500 steps sound reasonable, given my age, and can anyone please point me to evidence-based recommendations?

Thank you. CB_ in Australia

Best Answer
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@CB_, the "reasonable number of steps" is what your body and fitness level says you can handle. I'm in your age group, and I almost always get an excess of 10,000 steps a day. But, I have always been active, and I enjoy walking.  The key for you is to walk as much as you feel comfortable with, and gradually increase the number of steps each day. You'll be surprised at how easy it becomes to get 10,000 steps a day, which is the amount recommended by the American Heart Association.

BTW, I hate it when I go out for a walk and find out the entire trip is uphill both ways!  Smiley Happy

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
16 REPLIES 16