Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you really not eat enough calories?

I am new at this journey and I am confused why I am not losing weight. I lost 10 pounds no problems (like 60 or more to go). Yesterday I burned 3640 calories, had 16278 steps, 7.1 miles but my intake calories was 770. Someone said I am not eating enough calories? She tells me to eat what I want but say under calories. But... that's how I got fat to begin with!! I can't bring myself to eat all the yummy things I want to and I don't want to eat when I am not hungry! And how do I know how many calories to take in during the day?! Where is the Health Journey Bible!? 

Best Answer
0 Votes
4 REPLIES 4

No one should eat that little amount of calories. You are not eating enough.

You shouldn't go under 1200. But it also depends on how much you weigh.

You want to make it a lifestyle and not a diet. The weight will stay off.

Here are some articles for you to read

Not eating enough

Another

Community Council Member

Wendy | CA | Moto G6 Android

Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit the Lifestyle Forum

Best Answer

I hope you are not basing the fact that you are not losing weight on one day's calorie deficit numbers. If on the other hand you have been living on 770 calories for any length of time and are not hungry then your stomach  has likely shrunk .

You may be on your way to being anorexic.You certainly seem to have that mentality at the moment .

At 770 calories your body could be compensating by lowering  the efficiency or slowing down  some bodily functions,activity levels to protect your energy stores like fat. It sees losing weight as a bad thing at that point.

That is why the fitbit concept has calorie deficits you set to lose weight safely .

If you burn 3600 calories/day then the idea is to perhaps eat 2000 calories of the right foods so you will lose weight in a sustainable way.