Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is 0.25 lb / week deficit too small?

ANSWERED

I really bumped up my cardio goals.  I'm working out harder than I ever have in my life.  The downside is that I'm hungrier.  Although my ideal deficit is 1lb/ week, sometimes this is just too difficult for me to stick to.  If I slip as low as 0.25 lb/ week, will this even amount to anything?  I don't have a goal date in mind, I just want to make changes that I can maintain for the long haul.

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I have been spinning for over 4 years (3-4 days per week) now. When I decided to eliminate the bad carbs, and be cognisant of a healthy balance of (good) fats, (healthy) carbs, protein, and fiber I have been able to run a 10,000 caloric deficit for over 11 straight weeks without the onset of lethargic energy levels.

I too, found it difficult in the past cutting back on calories, when the "weak, lethargic energy" levels took me off the game. Back when I was only focusing on calories (not a balanced nutritional value) I found I could only run about a 700 calorie deficit daily. Now.....? I'm able to sustain over a 1,000 caloric deficit daily. As a result I'm down 28 lbs in 12 weeks (fat burn), and am strong on the spin cycle.

My suggestion? Be balanced. The body needs "good" carbs for energy. The body needs protein (for strength). Good fats are actually aiding in my celulite burn. Good Luck!

I suggest finding & reading the digital book "Burn the fat, Feed the muscle"

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
39 REPLIES 39