Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logging Calories for Recipes

Hi,

I'm completely new to fitbit - just got mine yesterday.  How do you log calories for foods that you cook from a recipe when there are no calorie counts at the end of the recipe or serving suggestions?

Best Answer
6 REPLIES 6

Hey there. A lot tougher this way, but you can definitely do it.  I bought myself a food scale (about $15 at Walmart) and it has been a lifesaver. I found that I was completely off on most estimates! Also, get some good measuring cups---from the teeniest teaspoon to the big more-than-a-cup containers. 

MyFitnessPal is great about having basic ingredients. Then I just pick the best one and log it. I've also started using the Recipes portion on MFP so when I make the same dish again, I won't have to find everything all over again. 

Everything is a basic estimation. A fact that I've had to come to terms with because I'm a super-OCD-analytical freak when it comes to this stuff. So just use your best judgment and keep on cookin'! 

Good luck with your Fitbit journey! 

Best Answer
0 Votes
I use myfitnesspal to track all food and link it to my fitbit account. It lets you enter your own recipes and those found on the web. It has a much better food database as well.
Best Answer
0 Votes

How do you link it to your fit bit account?

Best Answer
0 Votes

how do you link myfitnesspal to fitbit

Best Answer
0 Votes

I have this issue as well - I do most of my cooking from scratch.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Yeah, the native food tracker is very limited and biased to people who eat single discrete foods or prepackaged things.