Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Meal Prep ideas

Hello, I am a nurse and work 10-12 hour shifts.  Looking for meal prep ideas I can do on my off days for the week ahead.  Thanks!

Best Answer
5 REPLIES 5

Hi @amymsoftballmom - Welcome to the forums. What a great question! I do meal prep ahead of time but must confess, I only do it because I’m lazy and don’t want to prep meals every day. Here are two of my favorite meals to make ahead of time.

- a hearty soup, like bean, pea, chili or lentil. Those freeze nicely and make nice meals. All you have to add is a nice piece of fruit or a salad to round it out.

-  I cook pork chops in my slow cooker, usually enough for 3 meals. The trick is to cover them with half reconstituted Healthy Choice cream of mushroom soup. Make sure it gets in between the chops. Also, make sure the pork chops are covered with the soup when you freeze them. This helps make sure the meat stays nice and moist. I like a nice bagged salad with this dish. I will eat half and save the rest for the next day.

Finally, since I am watching carbs, I keep Atkins snack bars in the pantry in case the meal did not fill me up enough. These satisfy my sweet tooth while keeping the calorie, sugar and carb counts low. They are individually wrapped so I am not forced to keep looking at a tray of brownies or bookies. 

Best Answer
0 Votes

Hey @amymsoftballmom , I just started meal prepping and I love it. There's a couple different people on you tube that have healthy, easy to prepare, delicious recipes. Just search meal prep in you tube and I'm sure you'll find a lot of choices.

Best Answer

I'm the kind of person who doesn't like eggs in any form other than scrambled eggs.
  Of course-then sometimes I force myself to eat boiled eggs, but often that would reduce the time, I prepare a very tasty and fluffy omelet, there are many recipes on the Internet, I use the easiest one.