Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

15% at a Time - Can anyone else relate?

I'm Cindy and I'm new to FitBit and the Community.  I've done lots of dieting over the years and nothing seemed to stick.  I got bored or hurt early on or found some excuse not to deal with my food addiction. And my weight spirals up.  Lose two pounds, go up four because I get bummed out or stressed out. When I hit that size 24 mark and the dreaded 3 number was getting very uncomfortably close to appearing on the scale.  I knew I had to do something.  I hurt all the time and don't like to be around people, even though I'm basically a friendly person.Something had to change.  And now.  I get married in 3 years and I want to wear a dress I buy from a normal size store.  We plan to honeymoon in Scotland and I want to be able to walk all day without getting worn out. The time is now.

So, over the last few months, I've made small changes. Got rid of diet soda. Cut down to one soda a day, period.  Started carrying around a water bottle at all times and drink over 100 ounces a day.  But it's the exercise portion that always fails me.  That, and I LOVE food.  Really.  Love. Food.

So a week ago, I got a FitBit.  My stepdaughter has one.  She posted screen shots of her progress and I did some research.  I made up my mind.  If I can't do it this way, I'm going to bite the bullet and get the lapband after the first of the year.  But I wanted to try one more time to do it on my own, without surgery.