Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calorie deficit - conflicting data / recommendations. Any advice?

Hello. First post on the Fitbit forums here. I'm a 31 year old male, 200 pounds, 170 goal weight. I've been using Fitbit for about 18 months now (Charge 2 + Aria) and I'm a huge fan.

I'm looking for some advice on calorie needs. Here's where I'm at as far as my understanding of energy needs and how it relates to weight loss.

• I understand the concepts of BMR and TEE and have found and tested several online calculators (example: here) to give me an estimate of what I need to be eating.
  • I understand the general lifestyle / activity categories that determine "multipliers" to arrive at TEE. (See footnotes here, for example.)
  • I understand how cutting calories approximately relates to weight loss (e.g. cut 500 per day to lose 1 lb per week / 1,000 for 2 lbs, etc.).
  • I understand that cutting too much (more than 1,000 calorie deficit) is counterproductive to weight loss.
  • I've also read there are general guidelines for lower limits for males (e.g. see last sentence of first paragraph here.)
  • I understand the limitations of Fitbit's ability to estimate certain data (e.g. miles, calories burned).