Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calories In vs Calories Out

So I have started tracking my macros and calories in vs out lately. I've got my proper TDEE , the amount of calories to consume to put me in a deficit to lose the 1-1.5 lbs a wee, but... how trust worthy is the calories burned on the Fitbit app? It says I burn over 3300 cals most days. I am very active, I go to the gym 6 days a week and do cardio every other day... and I am a cook so I'm on my feet for 7-9 hours a day.. but 3300 cals? I'm at a 2000 cal limit per day.. this is just too much of a deficit, I don't want to lose my muscle mass ive worked hard on.. so how trust worthy is the calories out section with the Fitbit blaze??? Help please!!

Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7

Just realized this is charge Hr .. I use Fitbit blaze 

Best Answer
0 Votes

Im going to move this to the Manage Weight forum. You will get a better answer there

Community Council Member

Wendy | CA | Moto G6 Android

Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit the Lifestyle Forum

Best Answer
0 Votes
Thank you, I reposted the same post in weight management already, if you already moved it that's ok. Thank you

Sent from my iPhone
Best Answer
0 Votes

Most people find devices with a heart rate monitor overestimate calories burned by about 10 to15%. Other devices underestimate calories by about 10%. 

The differences seem to decrease as a person gets close to their normal weight.

Best Answer

I pretty much keep the deficit around -1000 calories each day, although I stop eating at 2750 even when I'm over 3750 calories burned.  I agree with @GershonSurge that I've run some numbers and figure for me it's a little over 10% inaccurate (or that's my calorie counting).  I haven't weighed in for this week but as of last week my running average was just under 2 lbs/week for 49 weeks.