Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! I get paid to eat dessert!

ANSWERED

I know life is hard working at a desk and being sedentary for 8 hours a day, but at least you're not surrounded by food.  A part of my job is literally to eat cake when I get to work.  I'm a cake decorator/pastry chef, and part of doing what we do is tasting everything before it goes out. 

Being that I do my job standing for 8-14 hours a day, I haven't packed on massive amounts of weight, but I'm getting older and my metabolism is slowing and it's getting harder to keep it off. 

I've got about 15 pounds I'd like to get off and I know about healthy eating.  We rarely buy dessert or junk food at home, but my problem is at work.  I can't get out of tasting the treats because that's part of my job.  And I've tried just spitting the bites into the trash, but once you get the sweetness on your palate, it's **ahem** near impossible to resist the rest of the day. I try to drink as much water as I can to stay full and to keep the sugar craving down, but it's not a great solution.

Anyone out there who has been through this and has any tips?  I love making custom cakes and I would never give it up, but what do I do to help balance it out in my life?

Best Answer
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions
I, too, have the problem of severe cravings after just a taste of something sweet. But I learned a trick that helps to put my brain back on track -- I brush my teeth thoroughly after I try something sweet. I am trying - mostly successfully - to get into this habit so my brain recognizes tooth paste as "the end." If you cant brush your teeth, perhaps you can try mouth wash? Or suck on a very strong mint, like an Altoid? For me, it was important to get my brain to recognize the signal to stop.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
11 REPLIES 11