Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am working hard and not seeing results?

Hello everyone!

I have been trying to lose weight for some time now and I am not seeing the results that I would like. I am currently a nursing student and know that the results are not smooth and you don't see the changes overnight, but I have been working at this for quite some time and haven't seen changes.

When I was in middle school, my family would go to the gym every day after school and work and I was extremely active. I did track and was put on the mile and a half because of my endurance. I was actually stuck at 97 pounds. However, in high school, I went through a lot of personal things that led to eating out a LOT and not exercising ever. I ended up hitting 247 pounds at my highest.

Since hitting my highest weight, I have been looking to lose weight and would ultimately like to get to 145 pounds. I originally started trying to lose weight by exercising again and went hiking quite a bit. I was not watching what I was eating, but I did manage to lose weight and I started to maintain my weight at about 220 pounds. I decided that I really wanted to dedicate my focus on weight loss since I am so young and I feel like now is that the time to prioritize it. 

Since starting my weight loss journey, I now go to the gym 6 days a week and do the elliptical for an hour. I hit 7 miles daily now and am burning 700-800 calories in that time (according to my Fitbit). I watch what I eat and track my calories on MyFitnessPal and have been trying to maintain a 1000 calorie deficit. In theory, I should be losing 2 pounds per week but after following all of this, I just managed to hit 209 pounds 4 months after my 220 weigh in. 11 pounds in 4 months doesn't seem like enough and I am fearful that I am going to give up. 

If anyone could help, I would greatly appreciate it.

Best Answer
8 REPLIES 8