Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will burning too many calories keep me from losing weight?

ANSWERED

I'm having trouble staying "In the Zone".

I'm on the "hard" food plan, which aims to burn 1000 calories less a day than I consume.  I'm a Pre-K teacher, so I chase around 4-5 year olds all day long,  and work out 4-5 times a week doing various activities - cycling, running, stairs, Zumba, weights, etc. Usually my fitbit says I burn between 2,600-3,200 calories a day (depending on if I go to the gym or not).  Well believe it or not, some days it's hard to eat 1,600 - 2,200 calories in order to get the -1000 deficit my plan calls for.  I'm simply not hungry.  I've lost 5ish pounds, but I'm wondering if maybe I'm not seeing the results I want because I'm not eating enough?  I've heard about your body going into "Starvation Mode" and hanging onto fat if it feels like it's not getting enough calories.  Is this true? I don't want to get discouraged.  It's frustrating because when I go to bed, it will say I still have 300 calories or whatnot to consume for the day.  Well obviously I'm not going to eat 300 calories before I go to bed.  Should I eat more at dinner and techincally "go over" calories with hopes that by bedtime I will have burned the extra calories I went over?  Help!

Scarlett
Best Answer
2 BEST ANSWERS

Accepted Solutions
Best Answer

everyone is different so see what works for you.  unless you've been starving yourself consistenly for a while, your body will let you know if you need food.  do you get hungry and actively deny yourself food?  meaning, if you're hungry, do you think "i'm hungry but i want to lose weight so i'm not going to eat"?  if not, chances are, you're doing just fine.  in the long term, you will probably need to adjust your intake for the obvious reason that your body's needs might change.  for me, i've actually needed to increase my calories a bit.