Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loosing weight with tracking food

So this is my first time with a Fitbit. So far so good and I’m loving it. But I’m new to the tracking food thing. I’m still learning on how to eat properly and eat more fruits and veggies. What I want to know, is tracking calories good? Or should I be tracking carbs? How do I know how many carbs to eat each day? What can I eat that’s not gonna spike up my carb intake? Can this really help me loose weight tracking carbs and calories and steps? I burn more calories than I take in, to me eating over 2000 calories a day for my body type seems like a lot and I feel like I’ll gain more weight. Should cals in vs cals out be the same or is it good that I’m buring more calories? I need a lot of help LOL

Best Answer
0 Votes
13 REPLIES 13

Moving to the Management Forum so you can get a better answer

Community Council Member

Wendy | CA | Moto G6 Android

Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit the Lifestyle Forum

Best Answer
0 Votes

There is no perfect solution that works for everyone. If it works for you and you are getting the results you want, then do it. If it isn't working for you, then try something else. 

I track calories and don't bother with any other 'macros' (carbs, fat, etc). I do this because calories seem more widely available and it works for me. I eat fewer calories than I burn and I am losing weight- so I have not needed to try tracking carbs. But a word of caution, it has been my experience that it is easy to underestimate what you are eating and overestimate calorie burn. So I use a kitchen scale and 'round up' or overestimate on everything I eat and I let fitbit calculate my calorie burn (using Charge with HR tracking) and do not enter manual calories burned. I think this results in underestimating my calorie burn (or at least getting closer to reality).