Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Losing weight and muslce

ANSWERED

Hello! I am new to the fitbit community and have been getting back into being healthy and working out. I have been eating right and working out 4-5x a week. My goal is to get toned and gain/build more muscle. The problem I have is that whenver I start working out, I lose weight and dont notice and muscle gain. I  do incorporate protein powder into my diet as well. Any suggestions as to what I could do differently or what I am doing wrong? 

Thanks! 

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Almost everyone (me included) would want to lose fat and gain muscle. However, it’s very hard to achieve both at the same time in an optimal way: losing fat requires you eat at a deficit, while for optimal muscle gains, you need to eat at a surplus. Secondly, gaining muscle is a very slow process, especially if you are a woman (as you appear to be), or an older guy (like me), even if you are doing everything right. If your priority is to lose fat, you should view resistance training (weight lifting) more as a way to minimize muscle loss than as a way to gain some. What kind of resistance training are you doing?  If you want to get "toned", you should lift heavy (for you): many women are afraid of doing so, for fear they will become bulky (almost impossible, even if you wanted to).

Dominique | Finland

Ionic, Aria, Flyer, TrendWeight | Windows 7, OS X 10.13.5 | Motorola Moto G6 (Android 9), iPad Air (iOS 12.4.4)

Take a look at the Fitbit help site for further assistance and information.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
4 REPLIES 4