Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

having a hard time staying away from fast food

ANSWERED

I'm new with fitbit.  I'm having a really hard time staying away from fast food resturants.  I know subway is the heathier place to go to.  Any ideas on how to stay away and go with home made stuff.

Best Answer
0 Votes
2 BEST ANSWERS

Accepted Solutions

I totally can see how Fast Food is such an easy supplement and a fast fix. I think if you found some really amazing (healthy!) recipes that you could feel good about, you will find yourself more interested in cooking at home because it's way cheaper, the food will be better, and you won't feel as guilty. Worth a shot! 

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
0 Votes

I think it's important to start with the alteration of how you're approaching this more than anything. Going cold-turkey is going to be one of the worst things you can do. Are you actively logging your food? I think logging my food has been the biggest eye-opener to me. When I actually have to log the food I eat, and I see how many calories it took up (especially at the end of the day when my intake is over and I'm like "Darn it! If I would've skipped this I would've been fine!") it definitely sways your thinking. 

I think the key here, for you, is to not completely remove it from your diet just yet but definitely try and limit it, or at least be more aware of how much of your daily intake it is actually using up. Eventually, once you find some recipes that taste amazing, you'll be able to swap McDonald's out and still have your palette feel satisfied. 

No one said this was going to be easy! I beat myself up today because I didn't pack a breakfast and had to resort to a quick on-the-go from Dunkin Donuts but I made sure that I chose a better lunch and would exercise a little longer tonight to make up for it. Tomorrow, I'll be sure not to forget.