Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calories In vs Out

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Hi, I'm new to Fitbit and I'm having a hard time understanding with the numbers on my dashboard. According to fitbit, my calorie intake per day is 1421. Today, I ate 1407 cals. When it comes to my ' calores in vs out ' it says that I'm OVER it. What does that exactly mean? and how does this Calorie in vs out thing work? Thank you!Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 9.17.53 PM.png

Best Answer
9 REPLIES 9

It's nice to see you on board, welcome @teejay_12 Smiley Very Happy! I'd try to do my best in order to clarify this for you, so here we go:

1. Overbudget means that you're current deficit is too small compared to your target deficit. You need to eat less or, better, get more active.
  2. Underbudget means that you're current deficit is too large compared to your target deficit. You need reduce your activity or, better, to eat a little more.
  3. In zone means that you're current deficit is just about right compared to your target deficit. You are doing everything just about right. You haven't necessarily been more active than usual, but you are eating for your current activity level.
  4. Calories left means that you can eat that many calories between now and midnight and end the calendar day in zone. You can have part or, if calories allow, all of that tempting chocolate bar before bed and not feel guilty.

Basically, use it as a guide to what changes you need to make to your life to move yourself into your zone and/or towards your goal.