Export more than 31 days of data

If you manage to find how to export your data (Settings?), you are presented with this lovely corporate pabulum:

Your data belongs to you!

At the bottom of that area is the much more truthful

You can export up to 31 days of data.

Given that I've been using FitBits for just under three years, this means that 1 month of 36 is available to me.  Thus, 2.78% of my data belongs to me.  It's not quite as catchy, but it's more truthful.  

Please either extend the data period available or have an option for the progress report e-mails to include CSV files of the the previous week's data.  One month of data is not enough to analyze trends.

30 Comments
jobjorn
Jogger

Currently, you can't export more than one month's worth of data at a time. This is ridiculous and should be increased to one year, if any limit should be in place at all.

It says "Your data belongs to you!" in a bright box right above the export form, if this is true I should be able to get my hands on it, no?

Moderator Edit: Labels

Kight
Base Runner

I completely agree.  You should be able to export at least a year of data at a time.

Kissa
Jogger

I agree! I'm fighting right now to download my sleep data since 2013. This is soooo ridiculous that we can't just export by year or TYPE the date in.

Rbwantdata
First Steps

FitBit states “your data belongs to you”, but they intentionally make it impractical to download.  Seem dishonest?

RapidOwl
First Steps

This will likely be a requirement of GDPR compliance anyway. Anything that obstructs a user accessing the data held by a third party makes that party liable for action to be taken against them. It's an incoming EU regulation, but there's no reason for this download to be restricted by region.

Status changed to: Reviewed By Moderator
SantiR
Premium User
Moderator Alum
Moderator Alum

Nice suggestion, thanks for sharing. We look forward to hearing what other community members think.

HeyItsTodd
Jogger