Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit SDK for iOS?

ANSWERED

Hi,

I'm an experienced iOS developer but new to Fitbit. I'm trying to understand what's available as far as iOS development, in particular with regard to the smartwatch.

I read through the developer information, but I'm not sure I fully understand it. It looks to me like there is a way to write apps that reside on the Fitbit in JavaScript, but I want to write an iOS app that communicates with the Fitbit and retrieves information such as heart rate.

Can this be done, and if so, how? Is the Bluetooth protocol documented somewhere? If not, is there a dedicated SDK for iOS, or some other way I could do this?

I read a little bit about "companion apps" which seem to be JavaScript modules that reside inside of the Fitbit app. This is definitely not what I need. I need to write a full-fledged iOS app.

If I need to write an app that resides on the Fitbit that communicates with my iOS app, that would be OK. That these apps can only be written in JavaScript seems less than ideal, as this is not a language I know, but I could probably find someone to help me with it. Assuming this is the only viable approach, can someone explain what communications options exist in the JavaScript language? Can JavaScript code use bluetooth, sockets, etc?

Thanks,

Frank

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Unfortunately we don't have any native iOS integration or APIs available.

Currently the only way to communicate with the device is via the Companion API.  Within a companion, you are able to use fetch and web sockets.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
10 REPLIES 10

Unfortunately we don't have any native iOS integration or APIs available.

Currently the only way to communicate with the device is via the Companion API.  Within a companion, you are able to use fetch and web sockets.

Best Answer
Thanks for the reply.