Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tutorial for Direct Link Private Clock Face Installation

I am a newbie to Fitbit development. I have completed my first simple clock face. I have sideloaded it to my Versa2 and it works fine. I have also loaded it to the Gallary App Manager and generated a direct link. From there I can't figure out how to load it to my Versa2 without publishing it publicly (maybe). I hesitate to do this as the clock face is very simple, but serves a purpose for me, but probably no one else. Here is the description: 

A simple clock face with an oversized heart rate display so I can read my heart rate without my glasses while I work out. The heart rate will change colors as follows:
>= 149 Red
>= 132 Orange
>= 115 Yellow
>= 99 Green
Otherwise Blue

These colors correspond to an Afterburn or Orange theory workout.

Can anyone tell me how to load this clock face without side loading it?  Thanks.

Best Answer
0 Votes
8 REPLIES 8

Try browsing to the private link in a browser on the phone that has the Fitbit mobile app installed on it.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software
Best Answer
0 Votes

Hi Gondwana. I tried that. It opens a page with no links and a button to open the app that doesn't work. I assume by open app it means the Fitbit mobile app. I can take a screen shot if that would be helpful. Any other ideas?

Best Answer
0 Votes

Hmmm, that sounds very close. You could try appending /openapp to the private link URL, but I've never known the button not to work (if it appears at all). I'm assuming you're doing this on the same phone/tablet that has the Fitbit mobile app installed.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software
Best Answer
0 Votes

Hi @arwin1 - what @Gondwana  says but there are a few caveats.

• it may not work from an iPad, there was a bug
  • it may not work in Landscape mode
  • the watch must be syncing to your mobile phone

If you see OPEN APP in your phone browser click on it and it should load.