Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPS concerns

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Well,

I have been using the Surge for about 6 months (3 different ones). I got this device because of the GPS but it's a joke.

The GPS is absolutely not usable since it's not accurate at all.

Now I know the people screaming "give us an example" and then "well, you're in a street with buildings, a park with vegetation, it's not open skies, etc..." BS to me.

In that case those conditions should affect ALL GPS devices, not only the Surge.

I did some tests in biking, walking and jogging with the Surge, an iPhone 6, an iPhone 4S and a Garmin XT910. I did go to places by the lake with 100% open skies, made 90 degrees right angles, mainly followed perfectly straight paths. Sometimes, for fun, shifting from one side of a sidewalk to the other.

Both the iPhones and Garmin perfectly match those shifts and paths.

The Surge makes me walk inside buildings, on water, zigzag when I walk a straight lines.

First, I thought it was a sampling rate problem, but the Surge gets 1 point every 1 second. So it's not the problem.

I noticed that when I bike, it's a bit better -- or should I say a bit less worse -- so speed may be a factor of precision. But when you know that it's aimed at accurately tracking your ways when walking and running...

Two pictures are worth 2000 words.

In red: Garmin XT910 and iPhones (I've put one, they fully overlap)

In blue: Surge

Straight line in clear open skies

And

Straight line in clear open skies

Non-sense.
I'll get back to my FitBit One which works fine for stepping, even if the screens tend to die after 18 months.

Too bad.

Moderator Edit: Clarified subject

Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7

2016-07-27 20_18_10-Google Earth.png

Surge

Galaxy S3 / Polar Beat / Polar H7 Chest strap

same way.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Zoom in and compare...