Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accelerometer Data in Sense for a project on Sleep at the University of Essex

ANSWERED

Dear Developers Community and Fitbit Official Support,

I am a researcher at the University of Essex. We recently secured £1.1M funds for a project about sleep and mental health.

I wrote this post for the SDK community but a user commented: “This forum isn't monitored by Fitbit (Google) staff. However, the Web API forum is monitored by a Fitbit (Google) person. Given the scale of your proposal, he may be able to put you in contact with staff who could provide more official help.” – So I reposted the post here.

For our project, we will recruit about 600 participants and they will wear a health band to keep track of their sleep quality and mental health issues. We are evaluating the possibility of buying 200 Fitbit Esense2.

Our main goal is to perform sleep stages classification. We know that from Esense2 we can have some metrics to infer a person's activity level through the Web API such as activeMinutes, activityCalories, etc.  During sleep, we can have sleep stages (e.g. wake, light, rem, deep, restless, asleep) but we want to implement a more complex algorithm based on actigraphy (x,y,z accelerometer signals) and heart rate variability (HRV), recorded by means of photoplethysmography. Therefore we need to record also the x,y,z accelerometer signals.

Furthermore, we need to record the data continuously for 8 weeks and we will send the heath band to each participant via post.
The devices only store data for 5-7 days.  So, the participants of our study will need to sync their devices with the Fitbit mobile application on a regular basis so Fitbit can store the data.   Then we can pull the data at the end of the 8 week period using the Fitbit Web API.  We are aware that to pull the data through the Web API, we will need to have each participant consent to share their data with your application.