Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting intraday data from multiple clients with one instance of an application

I am new to Fitbit apps development.  I am new to OAuth2 too.

I have written a "personal" desktop app to display my own HR and Steps.  Web API was used, and the app works as expected.

Now I want to scale it up to display others' intraday data too, so that it displays intraday data of several people at the same time on an Excel-like user interface.  The app would refresh one cell at a time, to keep it simple.

From my experience in building the first app, I believe the Client ID plus the Client Secret (got them when I registered the app) uniquely identifies who I am.  Therefore if I incorrectly enter my Fitbit account and password, the authorization process would terminate.

My question is: Now I am trying to get intraday data from more than one Fitbit account, how could I make the app asks for multiple Fitbit account/password entries one by one?

Thank you all in advance.

Best Answer
0 Votes
2 REPLIES 2

Hi @Eddy.HK 

The client ID and client secret uniquely identify your application with Fitbit.   To collect other people's data, you'll need to provide the authorize URL to the participants so they can complete the authorization flow.  During authorization, they will consent to the scopes or data they want to share with your application.   Once authorization is completed, you will be provided an access token which uniquely identifies the user, the data they agreed to share with your client ID.   You'll need to maintain this access token as long as as you want to retrieve this user's data.