Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gym-Link?

I just recently purchased the "Charge HR" product.  I particularly think it's cool that the android FitBit app seems to be able to show an almost real-time update of the metrics being fed by the device!  One of the reasons I was shopping for a heartrate monitor capable device is that my Polar chest strap unit began to die, and they do not contain user replaceable batteries.

So the problem:

I used the Polar chest strap heavily in combination with a rowing machine that would adjust resistance in order to maintain a target heart-rate.  It's a fine machine, but older, and uses Polar's "Gym Link" 5kHz signals.  It does not seem that the Charge HR transmits these frequencies.

Regardless, I am a developer by trade, and electronics hobbyist on the side, and wondered if it would be possible to read the data from the fitbit, then build out a transmitter that took that data and fed it to the rowing machine.  I can't seem to find any third party products that can do this, and I'm having a dilly of a time figuring out where to get at the real-time data.

Any chance to development of any sort in a device that converts these signals, or is the FitBit never going to be able to be used with GymLink machines?

Best Answer
9 REPLIES 9

Fitbit only provides an open API for 3rd party developers to use. That means only already sync'd data is available from the Fitbit servers. There is no way to obtain any direct data from the trackers themselves, at least none that Fitbit will provide. It is proprietary information.

Best Answer
0 Votes
Drat! I had such high hopes for this gizmo. Back to the store it goes.
Best Answer
0 Votes

@SunsetRunner wrote:
Drat! I had such high hopes for this gizmo. Back to the store it goes.

No one else's trackers alow direct access either.

Best Answer
0 Votes

no device allows direct access to that information?