Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Missing Resting Heart Rate & Average Heart Rate

Hello all!

I'm new to the Fitbit API, and I'm struggling with the heart rate side of things.

Firstly, Not all days have a "restingHeartRate" value. For example, requests for yesterday's and today's data both omit a "restingHeartRate" value. Any idea why?

Example URL: https://api.fitbit.com/1/user/MY_USER_ID/activities/heart/date/2018-05-21/1d.json

Secondly, I can't seem to find a way of returning an average heart rate for the whole day. Is this not possible. Via Garmin's Health API, they return Min/Max/Average and I was hoping for the same from Fitbit. Please could somebody point me in the right direction.

Best Answer
0 Votes
8 REPLIES 8

I have since seen the intraday endpoints.

It looks like by accessing that data, I'd be able to calculate the average, however it appears accessing this requires specific access being granted.

Users of my app either have Garmin devices or Fitbit. Garmin users at the moment can see this data, Fitbit users cannot. Due to it not just being for my own data, the personal API would be no good, so would I need to request access to the intraday data?

I'm still none the wiser on why certain days don't give a "restingHeartRate" value though 😞

Best Answer
0 Votes

You can request Intraday data for non-personal use through technical support by posting your request here: https://dev.fitbit.com/build/reference/web-api/help/

Resting heart rate is based on your resting heart rate recorded while you're asleep or awake.  If neither values are available, or a calculated daily resting heart rate is too high, a resting heart rate will not be generated.  

Gordon Crenshaw
Senior Technical Solutions Consultant
Fitbit Partner Engineering & Web API Support | Google
Best Answer
0 Votes