Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OAuth2.0 access Token API not working properly

ANSWERED

Hi, i am a newbie with fitbit API and i am currently working to integrate it with another system using the new OAuth 2.0 authorization flow.

Currently i succeded in requesting the code to the authorize endpoint, that succesfully open my callback page in order for me to call the token endpoint (https://api.fitbit.com/oauth2/token) to request the access token.

Unfortunately the call for the token always answer with a 401 error (unauthorized), despite i pass all the required parameters, below you can find the input i use:

{"redirect_uri":"https%3A%2F%2F**************%2FFitBitCallback","grant_type":"authorization_code","code":"4aaafbe8c0316e9562e8d867468d09f242c8c9d6","client_id":"******"}

I pass the authorization header with the 'Basic "base64 cliend_id:secret"' like in the API spec and

the redirect_uri is exactly the same as the one in the fitbit application i created in my dev profile.

Could you pls lend me a hand in order to understand what' wrong?

Thanks

Andrea

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Hi Jeremiah,

i was able to succesfully call the token service, anyway yes i was passing a json in the body and that was one of the issues.

In order to succcesfully call the service i had to send a string in the body (post parameter as you was saying) and overwrite some of the header parameter (the Host one was totally wrong).

Anyway now it's working properly.

Thanks

Andrea

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
0 Votes
10 REPLIES 10

You need to Base64 encode your clientid:secret string.

For example, if your client id was XYZ123 and your secret was abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwyz, the Base64 encoded version of XYZ123:abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwyz would be WFlaMTIzOmFiY2RlZmdoaWprbG1ub3BxcnN0dXZ3eXo=

Best Answer
0 Votes