Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counting Steps without using a tracker.

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Hi I am a nurse and work 10-12hr shifts.  Unfortunately due to Health and Safety I am not allowed to wear my fitbit to work.  Is there a step app that links to the fitbit so I can still have my steps counted throughtout the day?

Moderator Edit: Clarified Subject.

Best Answer
33 REPLIES 33

Hello @NurseTJ, and thanks for joining us, it's great to have you board the Community! Smiley Happy

If you're not able to use your tracker due to safety restrictions you can still record your steps using MobileTrack on your phone. 

To enable MobileTrack:

1. Open the Fitbit app and tap on the Account tab.
  2. Tap on + Set Up a Device.
  3. You'll be able to see MobileTrack, tap on it and follow the onscreen instructions.

This way, Fitbit will use your phone sensors to to track basic activity data including steps, distance, and calories burned. 

I hope this can be helpful, give it a try and keep me posted in case you need anything else. Smiley Wink

Marco G. | Community Moderator, Fitbit

Did you find my post helpful? Vote for it or mark it as a Solution! Robot wink

Best Answer

Hi, I'm in the same situation as not being able to wear my tracker all the time. However, when I try to set up Mobiletrack I'm not seeing that option..

Best Answer

Hello @AnneDM, thanks for joining us, it's great to have you on board. Smiley Happy

Please keep in mind that MobileTrack is only available on the iPhone 5S and up due to the sensors included on these versions of the iPhone. 

If you have an iPhone 5S, 6, 6S or 7 and you're still not able to see MobileTrack, please take a screenshot of your app and reply to me. 

Thanks for your patience and understanding, if there's anything else I can do for you, please feel free to reply! Smiley Wink

Best Answer
0 Votes