Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steps counting while driving.

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

I’m new to Fitbit and just realized that every time I travel by car, it’s recording the distance as steps taken. Recently I spent the whole day traveling by car, with very little walking and no exercise that day. I was awarded a badge for my efforts!!! What is the point of that? I tested this out by driving with the Fitbit in the car but not wearing it. Ooh lots of steps for me 

Moderator Edit: Clarified Subject.

Best Answer
0 Votes
13 REPLIES 13

Hi @JudeAnne. Here is what Fitbit has to say about counting steps in the car: 

WILL MY DEVICE PICK UP STEPS WHEN I’M IN THE CAR OR RIDING A VEHICLE SOMEWHERE?

Your device has been tested against driving, buses, trains, and other public transportation and should not give you extra steps when you’re traveling under normal conditions. On bumpy roads or in a car with a stiff transmission you may get extra steps. Though a few extra steps won't affect your trends, it's possible to log a driving activity and remove the steps from your account totals. For more information see How do I edit or delete Fitbit data and activities?

The link at the bottom describes how to edit/delete steps if necessary. 

Best Answer

Hello @JudeAnne, thanks for joining the Fitbit Community, it's great to have you on board. It's nice to see you @SunsetRunner, thanks for your all your help. Smiley Happy

@JudeAnne, I appreciate you have shared your experience with your Fitbit device while driving. As @SunsetRunner mentioned, on bumpy roads while driving, the device might count extra steps as the algorithm causes the 3-axis accelerometer to count them. When this happens, you can log a driving activity to negate those steps.