Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many steps do you average at work?

Interested in hearing the number of steps (a rough average) that people get at work. Post what you do, how many hours your work day is, and the number of steps you usually get.

I work in marketing for a ski resort, so the summers are slow with a lot of time at the desk, and the winters are busier. Work day is 8 hours + lunch, averaging about 5K - 6K steps now.

Best Answer
0 Votes
53 REPLIES 53

I do about the same as you with my desk job.

Karolien | The Netherlands

Best Answer
0 Votes

My work hours is 7.5 + Lunch. Mine is desk job too. But every hour I make sure to walk around to get my 250 steps. During lunch time, I go for at least 30 to 40 mins of walk or run. If I go for a walk, by end of 7.5 hours, I would be around 8k . If I run, I would have finished my step goal by that time. So average 8k - 9k.

Best Answer
0 Votes

I'm a teacher. I generally get about 8000 steps on a typical day, but I've gotten as much as 15,000 on a busy day.

Best Answer

I have an office job, but work in a manufacturing plant.  Some days I can be tied to my desk with calls and/or meetings.  Other days I can run around the plant like crazy.  I can usually get up to move a little more, but not always.  I average 5000-10000 most days.  I know that's a weird range, but such is life.

Anne | Rural Ontario, Canada

Ionic (gifted), Alta HR (gifted), Charge 2, Flex 2, Charge HR, One, Blaze (retired), Trendweight.com,

Down 150 pounds from my top weight (and still going), sharing my experiences here to try and help others.

Best Answer

I average about 7-8K, sometimes less. I work in a school, but have a mostly desk job. I have to make sure to get up and walk. I try to take 10 minute breaks every now and then, as I can get about 1K steps during that time. 

Best Answer
0 Votes