Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Who here meditates?

Just curious about people's meditation practice. What type do you do? How often? And most importantly, how it has impacted your life.

I've been meditating for a few years now. At first, I did the counting the breaths thing. Then, it was watching all the thoughts come and go like clouds. Currently I practice "just sitting", which really doesn't have any intent of "doing" behind it, and is very, very peaceful. It's the only practice that has brought real equanimity to my life, and I'm thankful for it.

I'd like to start standing meditation again, but it's very taxing. Friends that do martial arts highly recommend it.

So how do you meditate? Cushion? Chair? Music? No music? Tried meditating and found it difficult? Love it? Hate it? Chime in!

Work out...eat... sleep...repeat!
Dave | California

Best Answer
75 REPLIES 75

I guess I did it in the shower today. I mostly meditate in yoga class when we do it together and otherwise when I feel I need it. It really depends what and how I do it. Outside class I just do it when I feel I need it and when it crosses my mind, like in the shower today. Today was mostly a focus on my breath and physical body as I was/am strugging with tension. When I do a more elaborate meditation I like to try to meditate focusing on my breath to shift focus to my physical body to observe it, back to breath and on to thoughts to mindfully observe those, back to breath and observe my emotions to finally come back to my breath again. Never did a standing or walking meditation, so far sitting and lieing down.

Karolien | The Netherlands

Best Answer

I try and often fail to meditate daily. I try to do it at night before bed. On the days when it's harder to let go of the day, I find I can only focus on counting breaths. If it's not been as stressful, I "just sit."