Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge 2 calorie counter accuracy

ANSWERED
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Hey guys,

I'm new to exercising regularly. I'm trying to lose weight (5'1" 185 lbs) to become healthier and feel better. I've been working out and watching my diet for about 4 weeks and my boyfriend got me a fitbit charge 2 this weekend to encourage me to keep going. Well, my question is the accuracy of the calories burned on my Fitbit. I had been using a treadmill to track my progress, but today I noticed that my Fitbit had recorded my calories burned as 195 more calories than what the gym treadmill was reading! Can someone please tell me if this is accurate or if I'm doing something wrong?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Many of us have found the wrist devices overestimate calories by 10-15%. Less for those who are sedentary.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
62 REPLIES 62

@K_wallace, the calorie burn on your Charge 2 will be a lot more accurate than the treadmill. It won't be 100% accurate, but it will be a lot more accurate.  The Treadmill uses an "average" calorie burn based on the speed, incline, and time.  The Charge 2 uses your profile information for age, height, weight, and sex, plus the heart rate during exercise to calculate calorie burn.

Best Answer

Many of us have found the wrist devices overestimate calories by 10-15%. Less for those who are sedentary.

Best Answer