Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge 2 calorie counter accuracy

ANSWERED
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Hey guys,

I'm new to exercising regularly. I'm trying to lose weight (5'1" 185 lbs) to become healthier and feel better. I've been working out and watching my diet for about 4 weeks and my boyfriend got me a fitbit charge 2 this weekend to encourage me to keep going. Well, my question is the accuracy of the calories burned on my Fitbit. I had been using a treadmill to track my progress, but today I noticed that my Fitbit had recorded my calories burned as 195 more calories than what the gym treadmill was reading! Can someone please tell me if this is accurate or if I'm doing something wrong?

Best Answer
0 Votes
62 REPLIES 62

So how does the fitbit calculate my RMR and where can I find this number? Most online calculators give me a base metabolic rate (that's the same as RMR?) of about 1360, and a TDEE of about 1630. I know it's closer to 1750, but anyway.

The calorie burn with the fitbit is so much off for me that I would gain weight very quickly if I followed these numbers. Just earlier this week I got 2800kcal/day on a day where I slowly walked 18km. Knowing my numbers I should not have been given more than 2200. This is not 10-15% more, this is massive! Not amused by it to be honest.

Best Answer
Hi there.

There are going to be issues with both RMR and caloric expenditure.

Although not perfect, I find decreasing bodyweight to be the most accurate. This isn't a perfect solution but results are inline with what I'd expect (and I've been following intake/output for over 15-years.

Again not perfect, but better than the charge 2 saying you burn way more than expected. Also, it tends to be conservative. Better to have lower burn than higher.

Hope that helps.
Best Answer
0 Votes