SmartTrack to display distance for step-based activities

When SmartTrack detects a step based activity allow it to display distance on the activity log instead of N/A.

Moderator Edit: Added Labels

Sense, Charge 5, Inspire 2; iOS and Android

75 Comments
Slyborg
Keeping Pace

I don't see why when my fitbit detects I've been walking and counts my step and my distance easily, it's not available (N/A) when I go see that activity.

The work-around is to use the button whenever I go walking and then change the "workout" to "walk" when I'm done and synched, but it is tedious and I would really prefer to have the SmartTrack feature just include this data, since it is easy to implement for fitbit.

Thanks for this otherwise great device (Charge HR), I already feel much healthier knowing all my personal data and working to make it better daily.

Streeterb
Recovery Runner

I've been using FitBit for a couple of years now, and never felt the need to come onto the community until today; so please bear with me as I have a lot of posts I have read up on regarding my issue and idea, found a major common theme, but may have missed a post or two..

I have searched existing ideas and found only one similar, but not the same, regarding SmartTrack and Manual distance adding, which is not what I want. I'm happy not pressing a button and the FitBit doing it for me, that bit is great; manually doing things sucks..

SmartTrack recognises and correctly labels 'walk' (outside), 'run' (treadmill) and 'workout' (kickboxing).

If it's smart enough to know I'm walking or running and it knows my stride surely it can show distance in the distance column? Otherwise what's the distance column for, if not for walking and running?!

We used to use this column for recording how far we have walked or ran, and it was a very popular feature. It was also in demand on the android app, but never provided.