Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can a pill like Melatonin help to sleep?

Hi everyone! 😊

When it comes to sleep, like most things in life, there is no magic bullet or medicine. Sleep aids are actually not meant for long-term use. For more information, please check this blog.  

Amazon.com: Natrol Melatonin Fast Dissolve Tablets, Helps You Fall Asleep  Faster, Stay Asleep Longer, Easy to Take, Dissolves in Mouth, Faster  Absorption, Maximum Strength, Strawberry Flavor, 10mg, 100Count: Health &  Personal Care

Can anyone share their experiences about how to deal with sleep disorders? Feel free to share your thoughts! 🙌

Wilson M. | Community Moderator, Fitbit.
Best Answer
26 REPLIES 26

Hello.

I've been having sleep issues since.....forever. Since I was a child I remember looking at a clock until 4am in the morning.

At some point i've tried Melatonin (1 night only, when I was a student), but I woke up so tired, just like I never slept.

So usually when I was student and had an exam, stay awake all night, coffee, cigarettes, getting the exam, get home at 4-5pm next day and then sleep until next morning.

I've read a book about sleep stages, "Sleep" by Nick Littlehales. It helped alot and I started to use some techniques from there.

Now, I'm 30, work exclusively from home and have a 1 year daughter. My go to bed schedule is the following:

- 23:30 - 01:00 - reading

- 01:00 - 01:30 - sudoku (you can laugh) to kill any processing power left in my brain

Then I fell asleep in 5mins or so (before this it would take me about 30m - 1h30m to fell asleep)

In the morning I wake up at 9:00-9:20.

I'll try now to push everything down by 30mins so I can wake up 30mins earlier.

Hope this helps.

Best Answer

Hi @adinasavescu

Interesting! I think I will try what you've done to improve your Sleep. 😴 If it has worked for you then I think it can work for me as well. 😊 Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!