Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

weight loss and calorie counting....

ANSWERED

My wife and I have been using our fitbits for 2 months and we average 10,000 steps a day. In addition we are consistently UNDER our calorie goal daily and we have not lost A POUND!! I hear all these stories about weight loss and I think they are a myth, unless the individual has been totally sedate. We don't eat bread, pasta, potatoes, rice, refined sugar, soda or diet sodas. We drink TONS of water and yet nothing.....we don't get it!!!

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

The weight loss stories are not a myth.  I have lost 43 pound since the last week in January.  

1.  Do not give up!  I did not have a significant weight loss in my first month but I went down in dress sizes. You maybe gaining muscle which takes up less space than fat but weighs more.  Are your clothes fitting better?  

2.  Everyone is different and loses/gains weight differently.  Because of my genetic back ground I have a very low metabolism ( my height rate is only 56 beats per minute) .  This means I have to eat less and step more than most people.  If you are not losing, consider increasing your steps and/or decreasing your calories.  I discovered after I increase my steps, the weight slid off.    

3.  Join an activity group.  Having buddies helps keep you motivated and helps you keep your active level above 30 minutes.  

Good luck!

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
77 REPLIES 77
When I first got mine the account was set to maintain, not to lose weight. Once I set a weight goal and a pace to get there the numbers changed. Appropriate quantity is the key. I measure everything. I try to estimate high for calories intake and low for expenditure. I had substantially increased my activity levels before getting my Fitbit. I'm putting in 12-14000 steps per day and have lost 10 pounds in the month since getting my Flex.