Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calorie/steps accuracy for my Fitbit Surge!?

ANSWERED
Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Hey guys picked up my new surge yesterday.

I am wearing it during work today. problem is the steps are way too much in my opinion? 

I work in a factory and I am standing all day, also do walking, lifting, and actually have an elevated heart rate and sweat at times as it's faced paced sometimes. 

Now I do a lot of movement with my arms and I believe this makes the step counter go up even when I am not walking and this makes the total steps too high?

Is the calorie reading accurate then as I believe this goes by your heart rate? which at times goes between 115-130+ for periods if time during my shift.

Any help appreciated. 

Thanks

Moderator edit: Clarified subject.

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Nice to see you again guys! Thank you for jumping in @SunsetRunner. Your inquiry is valid @Satisfactionism, but as @SunsetRunner mentioned each device works in different way. Once you find a way to take advantage of your Surge readings, it'll be easier to know exactly where all those calories are coming from. Smiley Happy

Also know what you did that day will help! Did you drive that day? Driving can give you credit for some steps that you actually didn't do. Did you log any activity such as walking or running? Has this happened before? This details help us to research what else might be going on.

In your Dashboard online you can get more information and details about your calories, if you check the timeline of the day, you'll see at what time this is happening. Smiley Surprised

calories.PNG

Hope this helps and let me know if you need more help! It's great to have you in the Community! Smiley Wink

Want to get more active? ᕙ(˘◡˘)ᕗ Visit Get Moving in the Health & Wellness Forums.